THE ORIGINS OF THE METHOD

History of Acting
Method acting, from Konstantin Stanislavski to Sanford Meisner
 

STANISLAVSKI AND THE MOSCOW ART THEATER

Author of The Training of the Actor and The Construction of the Character, among others, Konstantin Sergeevich Stanislavski is the most famous teacher in the history of theater.

His very modern approach to acting, with truth as its primary goal, has profoundly revolutionized the art of drama as we know it today.
"Because the best thing that can happen to an actor is to be completely taken by his role. Involuntarily, he then starts to live his character, without even knowing what he feels, without thinking about what he is doing, guided by his intuition and his subconscious, and everything happens automatically."

Konstantin Stanislavski

Co-founder, with Vladimir Nemirovitch-Dantchenko, of the Moscow Art Theatre, Stanislavski went to New York with his group in the early 1920s.

Americans are fascinated by the performances they attend: for the first time, a real show is taking place in front of their eyes, far from the usual mechanical or overplayed representations.

 

THE MISTAKES OF THE AMERICAN LABORATORY THEATRE

Given the general craze, Richard Boleslawski and Maria Ouspenskaya, two of Stanislavski's students, emigrated to the United States and together founded theAmerican Laboratory Theatre, surfing on the popularity born of the Russian approach.

Among their students: Lee Strasberg, Stella Adler and Sanford Meisner.
The only problem for the Americans, which they were to discover a little later, was that the teaching offered to them was very incomplete, and limited to the tools developed by Stanislavski ten years earlier.

Reduced to the "psychological" part of his work, he was far from the complete approach of his system - starting both "from the inside" and "from the outside" - on which he will work, without completing it, until the end of his life.

Problems of translation rights from Russian to English will not allow either, and this until recently, to rectify many errors of import of Stanislavski's system in the West.
"Stella Adler had been worried for 3 years about certain aspects of the Stanislavski system or method. She admitted that she no longer found any joy in acting. Perhaps it was due to this damned method. Stanislavski immediately said, "If the system doesn't help you, forget it. But maybe you are not using it correctly. He offered to work with her on a scene she had found difficult."

Harold Clurman

Harold Clurman, co-founder of the Group Theatre and husband of Stella Adler
GroupTheatreFULL
520px-Group-Theatre-1938
Waiting-for-Lefty-original-Broadway-cast_01
group-theatre
 
 
 

1930'S: THE GROUP THEATRE

In 1931, Harold Clurman founded the Group Theatre with Cheryl Crawford and Lee Strasberg.

From this group of people who had always called themselves "our group", American playing techniques were born.

As well as a vision of the actor's role in relation to the political and social issues of his time.

Through the common practice of acting and its application to many professional projects and performances, tensions will emerge in the group, as well as questioning the foundations of the acting techniques themselves.
"The biggest struggle, however, was within the Group itself. The relationship between Strasberg and me became increasingly strained. (... I found him ... reluctant to admit his artistic problems or shortcomings, so much so that it was difficult to even suggest them.

Harold Clurman

 
LeeStrasberg_Workshop_White_salting_Training_Theatre_Cinema_3
 
 
 

LEE STRASBERG OR THE RAVAGES OF EMOTIONAL MEMORY

Paying the price for the lack of research into the evolution of Stanislavski's work, group members began to question the benefits of an approach that focused on emotional self-stimulation by often rehashing past traumas.

One man, in particular, has latched onto the sensory memory technique (which he will rename affective memory): Lee Strasberg.

In addition to the problems linked to the performances themselves, and an emotional complacency of which the public gets tired, it becomes obvious that this approach poses psychological problems in the medium or long term, and demotivates the actors by making their work tiring and tedious.
"(...) Playwright Arthur Miller, who was Marilyn Monroe's husband, felt that if she had only studied with Sandy (Meisner) and not Lee (Strasberg), she would still be alive because Sandy would have put her mind in order. As it was, one had to wonder if Strasberg had rather given or rather taken from his association with the famous and vulnerable Hollywood icon."

James Carville

Before her probable suicide, Marilyn Monroe had entrusted Lee Strasberg with the task of handing over her inheritance to their circle of friends and colleagues, and had even specified it in her will.

However, after his death, he did not: the property was hoarded and, upon Lee's death, passed to his second wife, Anna Strasberg, who eventually decided to sell it. Several trials later, the total amount of the auction organized by the Strasberg family for the 576 lots was $13.4 million.

 

STELLA ADLER IN PARIS

Eager to find out more, Stella Adler and Harold Clurman visited Stanislavski in Paris, where he was recuperating.
"This summer was marked artistically in an exceptional way by the influence of Stella Adler's account of her work with Stanislavski. To put it bluntly, she discovered that our use of Stanislavski's system was incorrect. Our overemphasis on emotional memory "exercises" had perverted our work with the actors. Strasberg's first reaction to this statement was to charge Stanislavski with going back on what he had said."

Harold Clurman

For five weeks, Stanislavski spends all his afternoons working with Stella Adler, and passing on to her the results of his research.

The differences between what she thought she knew about her "system" and what it had actually become were startling:

- Stanislavski recommended the use of the American technique (adapted and truncated by Boleslawski) only as a last resort

- For emotional preparation, he preferred to use imagination rather than "sensory memory".

- He was now approaching the emotions indirectly, through physical actions

 
Angrily rejecting the news, Lee Strasberg stuck to his usual approach.

He hypothesizes that Stanislavski downplayed the importance of emotional work with Stella Adler, seeing her as hysterical.

Strasberg himself will try to limit the side effects of this exercise by imposing a minimum of 7 years between the moment of the exercise and the personal memory used.
Sanford Meisner shares the general excitement and decides to explore all these avenues, which provide answers to many questions.
"When Stella returned (...) that summer, she reported back to Bobby Lewis and Sandy Meisner, confirming Sandy's intuition that Strasberg's use of Stanislavski's system had been incorrect. Stella felt that Strasberg was further introverting introverted actors, a serious and dangerous practice."

James Carville

Lee Strasberg's theory about Stella Adler's hysteria would prove to be wrong, the approach that Stanislavski gave him in Paris was the one he taught to his students - as shown by his notes about Leonidov for Othelloand a discussion he had with Harold Clurman a year later.

That same year, following this conflict with Strasberg, Sanford Meisner left the Group Theater and joined the Neighborhood Playhouse to teach and develop his approach, which would later be called the Meisner Technique.

 

THE METHOD, OR METHOD ACTING

Lee Strasberg is sometimes credited with "method acting," which involves the actor reliving events from his or her past - sometimes traumatic - in order to play the role truly.

In reality, this term refers to all the approaches of the Soviet and American theatrical schools derived or adapted from Stanislavski's system.

220px-Elia_Kazan
90
Screenshot 2020-08-08 at 19.18.03
 
 
 

THE ACTORS STUDIO

12 years later, in 1947, Elia Kazan, Cheryl Crawford and Robert Lewis founded theActors Studio.

This is a new studio created by and for actors to train together, and to help each other.

A "gym" for actors, as for athletes, according to Stanislavski 's work ethic:
"Actors should practice all the time, and work, as other artists do, to stay in shape. So explain to me why a violinist who is only the 10th violin in an orchestra has to practice for hours every day in order not to lose his level? Why then does the dancer work every muscle in his body every day? Why does the painter, the sculptor, the writer practice their art every day and consider their day lost when they don't work? And why is it that the dramatic artist does nothing, and spends his days at the café hoping for inspiration in the evening?"

Konstantin Stanislavski

Lee Strasberg was no longer with us. Sanford Meisner, on the other hand, joined as soon as it was created to teach his technique, bringing along many of his most talented former students.

4 years later, in 1951, despite the attractiveness of the Actors Studio, Elia Kazan moved to Hollywood to focus on his career as a director, which will be a huge success.

His favorite Sanford Meisner, who was busy with his job at the Neighborhood PlayHouse, suggested Strasberg as a replacement for Kazan instead, going to tell him the news himself.

Lee Strasberg took over from Elia Kazan as artistic director of the Actors Studio, and remained there until his death 30 years later.

 

GAME TECHNIQUES AND MARKETING

From then on, many of the actors who would become famous went through the Actors Studio, among others. They were sometimes labeled "Strasberg students," even when they had attended only a few classes as free listeners.
"But Sandy later regretted it. From her point of view, Strasberg was not only stubborn in his approach to acting, but he also proved prone to seduce Meisner's own star pupils into promoting his method. It infuriated Sandy to see Lee collecting laurels for the accomplishments of so many of his own prodigy actors (...) Sandy pointed out that the Meisner technique and Strasberg's method are "like oil and water; they can't mix. Over the years, many actors have had difficulty with the antithetical nature of the two approaches.

James Carville

"Strasberg was not opposed to publicity; in fact, Kazan told us that Strasberg had hired a publicist who followed him for over 30 years. Sandy's reaction to this news was, "Why would a drama teacher need a publicist?"

James Carville

In terms of acting technique, however, Elia Kazan and Arthur Miller were always very clear:
"Take it from a director: you have an actor that Sandy Meisner has trained, you are blessed."

Elia Kazan


"Whenever I run into actors, I can tell you pretty well which ones have studied with Meisner. Because they are honest, straightforward and don't get into complications that aren't necessary."

Arthur Miller


 

THE FUNDAMENTAL CONTRIBUTION OF THE MEISNER TECHNIQUE

Mainly, the Meisner technique solves an essential problem of Stanislavski's approach: that of spontaneity.

Beyond the emotional or physical truth, there is a form of self-indulgence in the actor's self-stimulation of Strasberg's method or even Stanislavski's system, which Meisner and Adler found introverted.

The actors waited for their lines and only came alive when they spoke.

And, as Anton Chekhov said to Stanislavski:
"Your actors 'play' well, but it still feels like they know what's going to happen ahead of time."

Anton Chekov, in Stanislavski

Meisner developed great tools as a basis for a very personal and individual research for the actor, which have also evolved a lot throughout his career and have sometimes been badly imported and translated.

The approaches to the Meisner technique taught by his successors have sometimes been in complementary or contradictory directions.

The search for the essence of this beautiful technique, its history and evolution, in the light of contemporary tools of change and current scientific knowledge(Ericksonian Hypnosis, NLP, Cognitive Sciences, meditation techniques, evolutionary psychology...) is the reason for the existence of Paris Meisner Studio.

Our Meisner & Systemic Coaching course is the culmination of this ongoing research and development program.

 
The rest of our educational story in 3 parts:
Octave+Karalievitch+Meisner+and+systemic+coaching
cyrille
 
 
 

OCTAVE KARALIEVITCH

After studying science (mathematics and physics in preparatory classes, then philosophy of science and knowledge), Octave turned to psychology and cognitive science, and became interested in research in 3 areas in particular: creativity, education and therapy.

Interested in the processes of personal development and liberation, he also trained in contemporary tools of "brief therapies" and coaching such as NLP orEricksonian Hypnosis, of which he is a certified Master Practitioner by the Society of NLP.

After training as an actor, he discovered many Russian and American techniques (among others : Constantin STANISLAVSKI, Stella ADLER, Sanford MEISNER, Lee STRASBERG, Eric MORRIS...) and it is the Meisner technique which particularly attracts his attention, beyond the unexpected sincerity that it confers to the actor, by its healthy, playful and simple side.

Noticing from the start the links with his previous fields of study, he also realizes the variety of his approaches in the world. He then created the Paris Meisner Studio to bring qualified teachers to Paris, in order to continue training in the right way while exploring complementary aspects of this technique, its history and evolution.

In his quest to perfect the understanding of the Meisner technique for himself and other students, he has established a novel system of research and development of which the Meisner & Systemic Coaching program is the result.

In parallel to his teaching and directing activities, Octave continues to train in various related fields to enrich this research, having begun, among others, a 5-year Gestalt therapist program at theEPG, training as a trainer with SCORF and training in Brad Blanton 's Radical Honesty tools (derived from Gestalt therapy and Ericksonian hypnosis, and aligned with the development of the Meisner technique's viewpoint work).

As well as traditional meditation techniques and Buddhist systems of mind-body connection, especially Vipassana.

INSCRIPTION

LES ORIGINES DE LA MÉTHODE

Histoire de l'Acting
Le « method acting », de Konstantin Stanislavski à Sanford Meisner
 

STANISLAVSKI ET LE THÉÂTRE D'ART DE MOSCOU

Auteur entre autres de La Formation de l’Acteur et de La Construction du Personnage, Konstantin Sergueïevitch Stanislavski est le professeur le plus connu de l’Histoire du Théâtre.

Son approche très moderne de l'acting, ayant pour but premier la vérité, a profondément révolutionné l’art dramatique tel que nous le connaissons aujourd’hui.
« Car ce qui peut arriver de mieux pour un acteur, c'est d'être complétement pris par son rôle. Involontairement, il se met alors à vivre son personnage, sans même savoir ce qu'il ressent, sans penser à ce qu'il fait, guidé par son intuition et son subconscient, et tout se passe automatiquement. »

Konstantin Stanislavski

Co-fondateur, avec Vladimir Nemirovitch-Dantchenko, du Théâtre d’Art de Moscou, Stanislavski se rend à New-York avec son groupe au début des années 1920.

Les Américains sont fascinés par les performances auxquelles ils assistent : devant leurs yeux pour la première fois se trame un spectacle véritable, loin des représentations habituelles, mécaniques ou surjouées.

 

LES ERREMENTS DE L'AMERICAN LABORATORY THEATRE

Devant l’engouement général, Richard Boleslawski et Maria Ouspenskaya, deux élèves de Stanislavski, émigrent aux États-Unis et fondent ensemble l'American Laboratory Theatre, surfant sur la popularité naissance de l'approche russe.

Parmi leurs élèves : Lee Strasberg, Stella Adler et Sanford Meisner.
Seul problème pour les Américains, qu'ils allaient découvrir un peu plus tard : l’enseignement qui leur était proposé était très incomplet, et limité aux outils développés par Stanislavski dix ans plus tôt.

Réduit à la partie « psychologique » de son travail, il était loin de l’approche complète de son système – partant à la fois « de l’intérieur » et « de l’extérieur » – sur laquelle il travaillera, sans d’ailleurs l’achever, jusqu’à la fin de sa vie.

Des problèmes de droits de traduction du russe vers l'anglais ne permettront pas non plus, et ce jusqu'à une période récente, de rectifier de nombreuses erreurs d'importation du système de Stanislavski en Occident.
« Stella Adler s'inquiétait depuis 3 ans au sujet de certains aspects du système ou de la méthode Stanislavski. Elle avouait ne plus trouver aucune joie dans l'acting. Peut-être était-ce dû à cette maudite méthode. Stanislavski dit immédiatement : "Si le système ne vous aide pas, oubliez-le. Mais peut-être que vous ne l'utilisez pas correctement". Il proposa de travailler avec elle sur une scène qu'elle avait trouvée difficile. »

Harold Clurman

Harold Clurman, co-fondateur du Group Theatre et mari de Stella Adler
GroupTheatreFULL
520px-Group-Theatre-1938
Waiting-for-Lefty-original-Broadway-cast_01
group-theatre
 
 
 

ANNÉES 30 : LE GROUP THEATRE

En 1931, Harold Clurman fonde le Group Theatre, avec Cheryl Crawford et Lee Strasberg.

De cet ensemble constitué de ceux qui s'étaient toujours appelés "notre groupe", naîtront les techniques de jeu américaines.

Ainsi qu'une vision du rôle de l'acteur en lien avec les enjeux politiques et sociaux de son époque.

Par la pratique commune de l'art de l'acteur et son application à de nombreux projets professionnels et représentations, des tensions émergeront dans le groupe, ainsi que des questionnement sur les fondations des techniques d'acting elles-mêmes.
« Le combat le plus grand, cependant, se déroula au sein du Group lui-même. Les relations entre Strasberg et moi devinrent de plus en plus tendues. (...) Je le trouvais (...) réticent à admettre ses problèmes ou lacunes artistiques, à tel point qu'on avait du mal ne serait-ce qu'à les suggérer. »

Harold Clurman

 
LeeStrasberg_Atelier_blanche_salant_formation_theatre_cinema_3
 
 
 

LEE STRASBERG OU LES RAVAGES DE LA MÉMOIRE AFFECTIVE

Payant le prix du manque de recherche sur l'évolution du travail de Stanislavski, les membres du groupe commencent à s'interroger sur les bienfaits d'une approche qui se concentre sur l'auto-stimulation d'émotions en ressassant souvent des traumatismes passés.

Un homme, en particulier, s'accroche à la technique de la mémoire sensorielle (qui sera renommée mémoire affective) : Lee Strasberg.

Outre des problématiques liées aux performances elles-mêmes, et une complaisance émotionnelle dont le public se lasse, il devient évident que cette approche pose des problèmes psychologiques à moyen ou long terme, et démotive les acteurs en rendant leur travail éprouvant et fastidieux.
« (...) Le dramaturge Arthur Miller, qui fut le mari de Marilyn Monroe, avait le sentiment que si elle avait seulement étudié avec Sandy (Meisner) et pas avec Lee (Strasberg), elle aurait encore été en vie car Sandy aurait remis de l'ordre dans son esprit. En l'état, on pouvait se demander si Strasberg avait plutôt donné ou plutôt pris de son association avec la célèbre et vulnérable icône d'Hollywood. »

James Carville

Avant son probable suicide, Marilyn Monroe avait confié à Lee Strasberg le soin de remettre son héritage à leur cercle d’amis et de collègues, et l’avait même spécifié sur son testament.

Pourtant, après sa mort, il ne l’a pas fait : les biens ont été thésaurisés et, à la mort de Lee, transmis à sa deuxième épouse, Anna Strasberg, qui a finalement décidé de les vendre. Plusieurs procès plus tard, le montant total des enchères organisé par la famille Strasberg pour les 576 lots s'est élevé à 13.4 millions de dollars.

 

STELLA ADLER À PARIS

Désireux d'y voir plus clair, Stella Adler et Harold Clurman rendent visite à Stanislavski à Paris, qui y réside en convalescence.
« Cet été fut marqué artistiquement de manière exceptionnelle par l'influence du compte rendu de Stella Adler sur son travail avec Stanislavski. Pour le dire franchement, elle découvrit que notre utilisation du système de Stanislavski était incorrecte. L'accent excessif que nous avions mis sur les "exercices" de mémoire affective avait perverti notre travail avec les acteurs. La première réaction de Strasberg à cette déclaration fut de charger Stanislavski en l'accusant d'être revenu sur ce qu'il avait dit. »

Harold Clurman

Pendant 5 semaines, Stanislavski passe toutes ses après-midis à travailler avec Stella Adler, et à lui transmettre les résultats de ses recherches.

Les différences entre ce qu’elle pensait savoir de son « système » et ce qu’il était réellement devenu étaient surprenantes :

– Stanislavski ne recommandait l’utilisation de la technique américaine (adaptée et tronquée par Boleslawski) qu’en dernier recours

– Pour la préparation émotionnelle, il préférait privilégier l’imagination à la « mémoire sensorielle »

– Il approchait maintenant les émotions indirectement, par des actions physiques

 
Rejetant ces nouvelles avec colère, Lee Strasberg s'enferme dans son approche habituelle.

Il émet l'hypothèse que Stanislavski a minimisé l’importance du travail émotionnel auprès de Stella Adler, en la voyant hystérique.

Force étant de constater les dangers psychologiques de cet exercice, Strasberg lui-même essaiera pourtant de limiter par la suite ses effets secondaires, en imposant par exemple un minimum de 7 ans entre le moment de l’exercice et le souvenir personnel utilisé.
Sanford Meisner partage quant à lui l'excitation générale, et décide d’explorer toutes ces pistes, qui apportent des réponses à de nombreuses questions.
« Au retour de Stella (...) cet été, elle fit un compte rendu à Bobby Lewis et Sandy Meisner, en confirmant l'intuition de Sandy que la manière qu'avait Strasberg d'utiliser le système de Stanislavski avait été incorrecte. Stella avait le sentiment que Strasberg introvertissait davantage les acteurs introvertis, une pratique grave et dangereuse. »

James Carville

La théorie de Lee Strasberg sur l'hystérie de Stella Adler s'avèrera fausse, l'approche lui ayant été transmise à Paris par Stanislavski étant bien celle qu’il enseignait à ses élèves – comme en témoignent ses notes concernant Leonidov pour Othello, ainsi qu’une discussion qu’il a eue avec Harold Clurman un an plus tard.

La même année, à la suite de ce conflit avec Strasberg, Sanford Meisner quitte le Group Theater et rejoint le Neighborhood Playhouse pour y enseigner et développer son approche, qu’on appellera par la suite la technique Meisner.

 

LA MÉTHODE, OU METHOD ACTING

On attribue parfois à Lee Strasberg la « méthode » (ou method acting), en considérant qu’il est nécessaire pour l’acteur de revivre des évènements de son passé – parfois traumatisants – pour pouvoir jouer son rôle de façon véritable.

En réalité, ce terme désigne l'ensemble des approches issues des écoles de théâtre soviétiques et américaines dérivées ou adaptées du système de Stanislavski.

220px-Elia_Kazan
90
Screenshot 2020-08-08 at 19.18.03
 
 
 

L'ACTORS STUDIO

12 ans plus tard, en 1947, Elia KazanCheryl Crawford et Robert Lewis fondent l’Actors Studio.

C'est un nouveau studio créé par et pour les acteurs afin de s’entraîner ensemble, et s’entraider.

Une « gym » pour comédiens, comme pour des athlètes, selon l’éthique de travail de Stanislavski :
« Les acteurs devraient s’entraîner en permanence, et travailler, comme le font d’autres artistes, pour rester en forme. Expliquez-moi donc pourquoi un violoniste qui n’est que le 10ème violon dans un orchestre doit pratiquer des heures quotidiennement pour ne pas perdre son niveau ? Pourquoi donc le danseur travaille quotidiennement chaque muscle de son corps ? Pourquoi donc le peintre, le sculpteur, l’écrivain pratiquent leur art chaque jour et considèrent leur journée perdue lorsqu’ils ne travaillent pas ? Et pourquoi se fait-il que l’artiste dramatique ne fait rien, et passe ses journées au café en espérant l’inspiration le soir venu ? »

Konstantin Stanislavski

Lee Strasberg n’était alors plus de la partie. Sanford Meisner, quant à lui, rejoint dès sa création pour y enseigner sa technique, en y amenant au passage beaucoup de ses anciens élèves les plus talentueux.

4 ans après, en 1951, malgré l'attractivité de l'Actors Studio, Elia Kazan déménage à Hollywood pour se concentrer sur sa carrière de réalisateur, qui connaîtra un énorme succès.

Sanford Meisner, qui était pris par son travail au Neighborhood PlayHouse, suggère plutôt Strasberg pour remplacer Kazan, en allant lui-même lui annoncer la nouvelle. Lee Strasberg prend alors sa place comme directeur artistique, et y restera jusqu’à sa mort, 30 ans plus tard.

 

TECHNIQUES DE JEU ET MARKETING

À partir de là, beaucoup d’acteurs qui deviendront célèbre passent – entre autres – par l’Actors Studio. On les étiquettera parfois « élèves de Strasberg », même lorsqu’ils n’avaient assisté qu’à quelques cours, en auditeur libre.
« Mais Sandy le regretta par la suite. De son point de vue, Strasberg était non seulement buté dans son approche de l'acting, mais il se révéla également enclin à séduire les propres élèves stars de Meisner pour les faire promouvoir sa méthode. Cela exaspéra Sandy de voir Lee recueillir les lauriers pour les accomplissements de tant de ses propres acteurs prodiges. (...) Sandy souligna que la technique Meisner et la méthode de Strasberg sont "comme l'huile et l'eau ; elles ne peuvent pas se mélanger". Au fil des années, beaucoup d'acteurs eurent des difficultés avec l'aspect antithétique des deux approches. »

James Carville

« Strasberg n'était pas opposé à la publicité ; en fait, Kazan nous a dit que Strasberg avait engagé un publiciste qui l'a suivi pendant plus de 30 ans. La réaction de Sandy à cette nouvelle fut : "Pourquoi un professeur aurait-il besoin d'un publiciste ?" »

James Carville

En terme de technique de jeu, cependant, Elia Kazan et Arthur Miller ont toujours été très clairs :
« Croyez-en un réalisateur : vous avez un acteur que Sandy Meisner a formé, vous êtes béni. »

Elia Kazan


« A chaque fois que je croise des acteurs, je peux vous dire assez bien lesquels ont étudié avec Meisner. Car ils sont honnêtes, simples et ne rentrent pas dans des complications qui ne sont pas nécessaires. »

Arthur Miller


 

L'APPORT FONDAMENTAL DE LA TECHNIQUE MEISNER

Principalement, la technique Meisner vient régler un problème essentiel de l’approche de Stanislavski : celui de la spontanéité.

Au-delà de la vérité émotionnelle ou physique, il y a une forme de complaisance dans l’auto-stimulation de l’acteur de la méthode de Strasberg ou même du système de Stanislavski, dont Meisner trouvait qu’elle introvertissait les introvertis.

Les acteurs attendaient leurs répliques et ne s’animaient que lorsqu’ils parlaient.

Et, comme le disait Anton Chekhov à Stanislavski :
« Tes acteurs "jouent" bien, mais on a encore l’impression qu’ils savent ce qu’il va se passer à l’avance. »

Anton Chekov, à Stanislavski

Meisner a développé des outils formidables comme base d’une recherche très personnelle et individuelle pour l’acteur, qui ont beaucoup évolué également au long de sa carrière et ont été parfois mal importés et mal traduits.

Les approches de la technique Meisner enseignées par ses successeurs l'ont parfois été dans des directions complémentaires ou contradictoires.

La recherche de l’essence de cette très belle technique, son histoire et ses évolutions, à la lumière des outils de changement contemporains et des connaissances scientifiques actuelles (Hypnose Ericksonienne, PNL, Sciences Cognitives, techniques de méditation, psychologie évolutionniste…) est la raison de l’existence de Paris Meisner Studio.

Notre cours Meisner & coaching systémique est l’aboutissement, toujours mis à jour, de ce programme de recherche et de développement.

 
La suite de notre histoire pédagogique en 3 parties :
Octave+Karalievitch+Meisner+et+coaching+systémique
cyrille
 
 
 

 

OCTAVE KARALIEVITCH

Après des études de sciences (mathématiques et physique en classes préparatoires puis philosophie des sciences et de la connaissance), Octave s’oriente vers la psychologie et les sciences cognitives, et s’intéresse à la recherche dans 3 domaines en particulier : créativité, éducation et thérapie.

Intéressé par les processus de développement et libération personnelle, il se forme aussi à des outils contemporains de “thérapies brèves” et coaching comme la PNL ou l’Hypnose Ericksonienne, dont il est diplômé Maître Praticien par la Society of NLP.

Reprenant une formation d’acteur, il découvre de nombreuses techniques russes et américaines (entre autres : Constantin STANISLAVSKI, Stella ADLER, Sanford MEISNER, Lee STRASBERG, Eric MORRIS…) et c’est la technique Meisner qui attire tout particulièrement son attention, au-delà de la sincérité inattendue qu’elle confère à l’acteur, par son côté sain, ludique et simple.

Y remarquant dès le départ des liens avec ses domaines d’études antérieurs, il se rend aussi compte de la variété de ses approches dans le monde. Il crée alors Paris Meisner Studio pour faire venir à Paris des professeurs qualifiés, afin de continuer à s’entraîner de la bonne manière tout en explorant des aspects complémentaires de cette technique, son histoire et son évolution.

En cherchant à perfectionner la compréhension de la technique Meisner pour lui-même ou les autres élèves, il a mis en place un système inédit de recherche et de développement dont le programme Meisner & coaching systémique est l’aboutissement.

INSCRIPTION